We want to make it hard for you to compliment our #custserv

Ever hear something that just didn’t seem right? That happened to me last week. My Aunt told me about a great Customer service experience she had with Sprint’s online chat support. She was so excited about the experience she wanted to take the time to write an email to management to recognize the two agents she was chatting with. When she asked the agents for an email address, they told her they didn’t have one. That seemed odd. I told her I would ask on Twitter. Here’s what I found out about Sprint and the other three major wireless carriers in the US and how they stack up.

Ranking

Company

Service Handle

Speed of Answer

Email

1

AT&T

 @ATTCustomerCare

22 minutes

Yes

2

T-Mobile

 @TMobileHelp

73 minutes

Yes

3

Verizon

 @VZWSupport

19 hours

No

4

Sprint

 @SprintCare

75 hours

Yes

 

Details:

SPRINT: I tweeted @SprintCare fir the first time on Friday, September 13, 2013, at 9:51pm CT. I simply asked if they have an email address where compliments can be sent. I followed up 12 hours later after not getting a response and included the corporate handle @sprint. At this point, several friends jumped on the conversation, trying to get something from Sprint. My good friend, Faisal, received a response advising that Sprint is happy to pass along any feedback we have (though still no mention of an email address or not). I did receive a tweet from @SprintCare Tuesday, September 17, 2013 at 10:06am CT with an email address, and several more answers from different representatives telling me the same thing in answer to my follow up tweets. I got my answer, but not in anything close to an acceptable or timely manner.

VERIZON: After hearing about my Sprint questions, Faisal decided to tweet to @VZWSupport to see if they had an email address to receive compliments. His tweet was sent on Saturday, September 14, 2013 at 4:05pm CT. The answer he got was received at 11:12am CT the next day. That’s a 19 hour+ reply. To be fair, that is because the handle is not supported 24 hours a day. If we look at staffed hours, that’s a 4 hour and 12 minute reply, although they did not have an email address to provide. It’s unfortunate that out of the four providers in this test Verizon is the only one that doesn’t have a feedback email.

AT&T: I tweeted to @ATTCustomerCare the same question at 12:41pm CT on Sunday, September 15, 2013. I received a reply with an email address where I can send the compliment at 1:03pm CT. That’s a 22 minute speed of answer that gave me what I was asking for. This is the fastest of the four companies surveyed.

T-MOBILE: At 5:02pm CT on Sunday, I tweeted to @TMobileHelp asking if they have an email address. I received their reply tweet at 6:15pm CT that included their email address and what they wanted to identify me. That’s a speed of answer of 73 minutes. This puts T-Mobile in second based on the speed of answer.

Special Mention:

VERIZON: As a social Customer service advocate, I do want to commend Verizon. I am disappointed they do not have an email address for feedback, but they did appear to be concerned with the conversation I was having with Faisal and others during this ad hock study. Using their @VZWSupport handle, Verizon reached out to find out how they could do better and showed an interest in the results of this blog, even when their handle was not included in the conversation at the time. This is a great example of using proactive Customer service techniques in social media.

vzw

2 thoughts on “We want to make it hard for you to compliment our #custserv

  1. Al, Jay Baer said it best: “It’s awfully hard to be great online if you’re less than great offline.”
    Thanks for the effort you put into this post and for sharing it with the rest of us.

    • Thanks for taking the time to read my post, Steve. I was shocked at the results on several levels. The adventure continued during the week that followed, but that is someone else’s story to share.

Leave a Reply

